California Arts Council

State of California

Press Release Detail

March 02, 2017Caitlin Fitzwater

California Assembly Speaker and California Arts Council Chair Issue Joint Letter in Support of the National Endowment for the Arts

Sacramento -

 Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon (D-Paramount) and California Arts Council Chair Donn Harris have written the Chair of the National Endowment for the Arts expressing support for the federal arts agency, which this year provided about $9 million for California arts programs.

"California knows the value of NEA grants and feels their impact, in places urban and rural, from the ocean to the mountains, and from our southern border to our northern counties," Rendon and Harris wrote to NEA chair Jane Chu, expressing support for federal arts funding.

They expressed concern for the potential loss of funds, particularly as it would affect young people and struggling communities, and noted that the small amount the federal government spends on arts has a great impact.

"These grants have outsized impacts. Local matches and economic multipliers make these funds influential in our communities, not only artistically, but economically," they wrote.

The full letter can be found on Speaker Rendon's website:

Website of Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon:

CONTACT: Kevin Liao, (916) 319-2063, Speaker's Office

#  #  #  

The mission of the California Arts Council, a state agency, is to advance California through the arts and creativity. The Council is committed to building public will and resources for the arts; fostering accessible arts initiatives that reflect contributions from all of California's diverse populations; serving as a thought leader and champion for the arts; and providing effective and relevant programs and services.

Members of the California Arts Council include: Chair Donn K. Harris, Vice Chair Nashormeh Lindo, Larry Baza, Phoebe Beasley, Christopher Coppola, Juan Devis, Kathleen Gallegos, Jaime Galli, Louise McGuinness, Steven Oliver, and Rosalind Wyman. Learn more at


return to press releases